Seasonally, spring is typically associated with rebirth, hope, and new beginnings. But personally, I have always felt a deeper sense of starting afresh and a more profound calmness and renewal in the fall season. Things seem to slow down from the frivolity of summer days filled with all the excitement of summer camps, family vacations, and taking advantage of the 14 hours of sunlight everyday. The joyous abandon with which children on summer vacation play in the neighborhood, or adults leave behind their daily grind to jet off on a much awaited trip, gives them the necessary mental rest to move forward with renewed purpose. In the fall, people settle back into routines of school and work and regain their focus, the weather inspires us to dig out our cozy boots, sweaters, and scarfs, and nature begins its preparation for winter. To me it feels similar to waking up from a well timed nap, you wake up feeling refreshed, not groggy, and up to the task of resuming the work that you had put down. Surrounding yourself with a few of your favorite creature comforts – cozy and comfortable clothing, a hot cup of tea and delicious snack, you settle in by a large window with the sunlight pouring in, and set out to continue working with revived intention.

It may have something to do with the fact that I was born in the midst of the Appalachian mountains, and it may also have to do with the fact that I returned to the same mountains every fall for four years while in college, but I crave the fall colors. I yearn to be in the middle of the woods when the forest floor is covered with a layer of fallen leaves all brilliant shades of orange, red, and brown, with the sunshine warm on my face and a crispness to the air that feels cold in the shade. Leftover from my school days, this time of the year continues to inspire a renewal of motivation, the start of a new journey, a new opportunity for success, and a calming faith and trust that I am capable, and that things will have a way of working themselves out.

So in keeping with all of these inspirations, I’ve decided to start this blog in the hopes that it will give me the motivation and a portal through which to satisfy a lifelong desire to express myself through writing. If I’m being honest, I’m scared, and I secretly hope both that no one ever reads this and that they do. But if you are reading this, thank you, and I hope you will find some of the things I post worth reading, and maybe even enjoyable, inspiring, or thought provoking. My idea is that most of the posts will be along the lines of travel, original works of fiction, and random musings and observations.

I guess that’s it for now! Here’s to hoping that having to answer to something like a blog and having a platform where I have to show something for myself will be the catalyst I need in order to fulfill this desire I’ve had for as long as I can remember – to write.

